Thursday, January 10, 2013


An Author Spotlight
by Connie Flynn 

K. R. Richards is the Author of the Lords of Avalon Series, an adventurous, sexy, romantic, humorous romp through nineteenth century Glastonbury and other locations in South West England.  The Lords of Avalon are members of the Avalon Society, a historical and paranormal society; so the series also includes some paranormal elements. Did I mention the Lords of Avalon are referred to as the Lusty Lords of Avalon by the Ton. (They are!) K. R.  likes to call them Alpha Geeks, because they are scholars who are highly intelligent, but oh so hot and sexy!  People ask K. R. all of the time what her series is about.  Instead of saying, “Well, it’s complicated…” she generally says, “It’s Jane Austen meets Indiana Jones, Da Vinci Code and Sherlock Holmes. Sort of.”

Having studied and taught in the psychic development arena for years, K. R. set out to combine her love of the Spiritual realm and mystic studies with her love of history and the Romance genre.  The Lords of Avalon series was born.
K. R.’s other interest include archaeology, genealogy, reading, Yoga, Pilates, antiques, music and Johnny Depp (K. R. is a Co-Admin on two JD fan pages that are highly respected in Deppland!) She is an avid and serious collector of crystals, gemstones and minerals. K. R. currently lives in Mississippi though she calls Arizona home, and plans to someday return to her beloved desert!        

I have a favorite query for spotlighted authors new to Much Cheaper Than Therapy:  What question has no one ever asked you that you wish they would? K.R. answered:

No one has ever asked me how I go about naming my main characters. Over the years I’ve learned a lot about the etymology and origin of names, and have something of a collection of names.  Since I write historical romance, it’s important to me that I find names that could have been used during the time period I’m working in. I visit genealogy sites for the area and time frame my characters were born for both first and last names. I have a vague idea of who the character is, but they don’t become real to me until they are named. The naming process is very important to me. I want their name and/or titles to convey something of their personality.  For me, once the character has their very well thought out name, they spring to life.  Then the fun begins.  

About Her Books:

Book 1 in the Lords of Avalon Series   
 Lady Rowena Locke seeks permission from Harry Bellingham, the new Lord Glaston to search for treasure hidden on Glastonbury Abbey grounds.  Glaston is the head of the renowned Avalon Society, an historical society which pursues myths, legends, ancient treasures and the paranormal.

To her surprise, not only is Harry interested in the treasure hidden by the last Abbot of Glastonbury before the dissolution of the Abbey; he is also interested in Rowena.  Her vow to never marry is severely tested upon meeting Lord Glaston.

When Harry and the Avalon Society members step in to assist Rowena and her aunt on their quest, dangerous and mysterious men in brown coats and hats appear in Glastonbury also searching for the lost Abbey treasure.  It’s a race against time as the mysterious ‘Brown Coats’ seem to be always a step ahead of them. Their quest becomes more dangerous as they find more clues, treasures, letters and holy secrets while trying to protect their finds from the enemy.

Will they discover who the ‘Brown Coats’ are and why they are after the treasures?  Can Harry convince marriage wary Rowena to trust in love and marry him?  AVAILABLE THRU AMAZON

Book 2 in the Lords of Avalon Series

Through no fault of their own, Avalon Society member, Micah Wychcombe, Viscount Wincanton, and Lady Elizabeth “Libby” Darrington find themselves in a compromising situation.  Micah offers for Libby out of gentlemanly duty and honor.

In another situation involving honor, fellow Avalon Society member, Lyon Ravenscroft, the Earl of Amesbury, must offer for Miss Sophia Hart.

Meanwhile, the Avalon Society realizes they are once again being pursued by the mysterious brown-coated men who plagued them recently in Glastonbury.  It becomes clear the Brown Coats are after their recent finds and acquisitions, the Glastonbury Sapphire, the Holy cruets brought to Glastonbury by Joseph of Arimathea, and five ancient Greek and Aramaic scrolls which were hidden by Glastonbury’s last Abbot, Richard Whiting, before the Abbey was destroyed in 1539. The Brown Coat numbers increase and their attacks become vicious.  Soon, the Avalon Society members realize the leaders of the brown-coated army are anonymous heads of an Order of powerful men in prominent positions. 

When their loved ones and families are targeted, the Avalon Society must join forces with the Crown to discover the identities and destroy their enemies. Can they discover the identities of the leaders and stop the Order’s attacks?  Will Micah and Libby, and Lyon and Sophia, find happiness in their new circumstances?
The First Lords of Avalon Novella, Lord Greyton’s Fall From Grace, was released on Amazon Kindle in October 2012.  It is the back story of Owen and Grace who are introduced in Lords of Honor. AVAILABLE THRU AMAZON

Facebook Page
Amazon Author Page
Goodreads Author Page
Blog address
Email address:

 Available on Amazon Kindle in February 2013.
Book 3 in the Lords of Avalon Series, Lords of Retribution,

Book 4, Lords of Atonement
will be out in Fall, 2013.


Marie said...

I love the sound of this series and look forward to reading my first one....mystery, treasure, hot men...oh yeah...definitely my cup of tea.


Kimberly Richards said...

Thank you, Marie! Let me know how you like it. K. R.

Connie Flynn said...

K.R. Just dropping in to welcome you. Like Marie I'm impressed by the sound of this series. Intriguing. I especially like the concept of Alpha geeks and so I started the book this morning. I can't wait to see what happens.

Kimberly Richards said...

Thanks, Connie! I truly do look at them as Alpha Geeks. Let me know what you think. K. R. :)